Sri Lanka Society of Gastroenterology

The inception of the society can be traced back to 1965, when the first flexible gastroscope was donated to the country by Prof Komei Nakayama, a giant in the field. Further advancements were made due to the untiring efforts of two pioneers in the field, Dr. Nihal Markus (physician) and Prof Dayasiri Fernando (surgeon), which resulted in the steady growth of the fields of gastroenterology and digestive endoscopy.

The SLSG was subsequently accepted and elected to the governing councils of both the Asia Pacific Society of Gastroenterology and the Asia Pacific Society of Digestive Endoscopy. A few years later in 1996, the Society was rewarded with the decision of the governing councils to hold a mini congress of the Asia Pacific in Sri Lanka.

The speciality of Gastroenterology (Surgical) was approved for training by the Postgraduate Institute in Medicine (PGIM) in 1990, thanks to the efforts of Prof. Dayasiri Fernando. In 1999, due to the untiring efforts of Prof. Janaka de Silva, Medical Gastroenterology was also recognized as a medical subspecialty. This paved the way for a new era for society as well as for the fields of Gastroenterology and Hepatology on the island.

Our Council

Dr Jayani Manchanayake

Dr. Jayani Manchanayake


Dr. Kuleesha Kodisinghe

Joint Secretary

Dr. Isuru Upanishad

Joint Secretary

Dr. Chamila Kumara Ranawaka


Prof Madunil Niriella

Prof. Madunil Niriella

President Elect

Dr Nandana Dinamithra

Dr. Nandana Dinamithra


Prof. Rohan Siriwardana

Prof. Rohan Siriwardana

Immediate Past President

Dr. Ranjith Peiris

Past President Representative

Dr. Amal Priyantha

Past President Representative

Meet Council Members 2023

Dr. Mananjala Senanayake

Dr. Sanjeev Samaranayake

Dr. Udaya Kalubowila

Dr. Chamila Subasinghe

Dr. Chathura Lakmal Piyarathna

Dr. Uditha Dassanayake

Dr. Vithiya Rishikesavan

Dr. Tharanga Liyanaarachchi

Dr. Eranga Thalagala

Dr. Chinthaka De Silva

Dr. Chathuranga Keppetiyagama

Dr. Ushanth Dalpatadu

Dr. Suchintha Tillakaratne

Dr. Duminda Subasinghe

Dr. Rasika Bulathsinghela